Festival Theatre honored with major award from the New England Theatre Conference

New Bedford Festival Theatre has received notification from the New England Theatre Conference that it has been selected as the recipient of The 50th Moss Hart Memorial Award Grand Trophy for presenting the outstanding production in New England displaying the highest standards of excellence in theatre for its production of HAIRSPRAY.

Honoring Moss Hart, dramatist and director, for his wit and sensitivity, for his unconquerable enthusiasm for life and for his work in the theatre, the award stipulates that the winning production “must present affirmative views of human courage and dignity, have strong literary and artistic merit, and exemplify fresh, imaginative, creative treatment…”

The Grand Trophy is chosen from the best of professional, community, college, secondary, and youth divisions.

HAIRSPRAY was Directed and Choreographed by Michael Susko, Musical Direction was by Juan Rodriguez. The Design Team included Trevor Elliott, Sets; Jason Choquette, Sound; Aaron Gendreau-Visco, Costumes; Dan Jentzen, Lighting; Melissa Rogers, Hair
and Wigs; and Larissa McGlaughlin, Make-up. The production was supervised by Artistic Director, George Charbonneau and Produced by Armand Marchand.

The Award will be presented at the New England Theatre Conference Annual Convention on Saturday, Oct. 27, 2012 at the Crown Plaza Hotel in Natick, MA.

Tickets for the event are $45 and may be purchased by calling Festival Theatre at 508.991.5212